Product Review – Avène Very High Protection Cream SPF 50 +

I started using sun protection very recently when I saw my skin raising the red flag!!! Even though I spend most of my time at home in last few years I have noticed dark spots & dull skin. Worst in all are those white bumps around my eyes. Doctors say they appear because of sun exposure & there is no particular treatment for the same. Best is to protect your skin all the time from those harmful rays.

Avène Very High Protection Cream SPF 50 +

Avène Very High Protection Cream SPF 50 +


I chose Avène because its a highly recommended products by dermatologists & because I needed at least SPF 50 and above. I have also used Shahnaz Husain Nano Sun Block formula SPF 25. If I manage to find a higher SPF under this range, i am sure of dropping what I am using. You will soon read a happy review about Shahnaz Husain Nano Sun Block formula SPF 25 HERE.
Coming back to Avène…

Product Claims – Product description mentions its a product formulated for hypersensitive skin, light and very fair skin; skin prone to sunburn and skin exposed to intense sunlight. For me this product is great because my skin is prone to sunburn & i now i do have some exposure to intense sunlight. Also, its a product for dry sensitive skin. It claims to protect against UVB and also short and long UV rays. It says no white residue… And its pretty much true. Once you have applied the product, you will see a white layer on your skin… but that blends in and disappears in few minutes. Anti irritating properties of the Thermal Spring water (the star ingredient of Avène products) acts as a soothing agent.

Packaging & Content – It comes in a tube with 50 ml product. The tube has a pump top & very convenient to use. However I believe this pump top might have problems when tube is not filled in with the product / when its about to finish. I am about to finish my first tube & I can see the pump not dispensing the product effectively. If that happens I am sure of cutting off the tube to see if there is any wastage. The cream is rich & creamy in texture and works so well for my dry skin. Its easy to apply & leaves no residue / white layer on your skin. However if you hit the gym immediately after this get ready to see it melt.

How I use this product – I usually wear my sun protection over my moisturiser or moisturizing repair treatments. But if I am out of time just a layer of this high protection cream leaves me moisturised for good few hours. I apply it twice a day. Once in the morning before I step out to drop my son to school & again in the afternoon e before I pick him. This way my skin is protected for good 8 – 10 hours.

Price – I picked this up under promotion where I got 2 50 ml tubes for QR 128. There are many more products in the market that are better priced, its about finding the product that best suits you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product Review – Avène Very High Protection Cream SPF 50 +

  1. Pingback: Product Review – Shahnaz Husain 8 in 1 Nano Sun Block SPF 25. | Modern Indian Mom

  2. Pingback: Must-Have Summer Bag Essentials | Modern Indian Mom

Leave a Reply

