Indian “French Toast”

I know the title may sound stupid or funny to some of you…  but you see we indians can create our masala (spicy)version to anything :-)
I am not posting for recipe sake because most of you know to do this stuff. I am posting this for fun!!! Recently we watched a movie “Queen” starring Kangna Ranaut & we burst out laughing.  This girls makes breakfast for some guys and one of them is a French. He loves what she prepares & asks what is this? she replies innocently.. this is french toast…  guy surprised… says, I am from France this is not french toast, he says…   well this is how we make french toast all over India. Lol I loved it because I could connect.  Since then I was craving for my French toast…  the Indian version for sure!!
It Friday,  and weekend in this part of the world.  SO what could be a better breakfast than this one.

Indian "French Toast"

Indian “French Toast”

Ingredients
Bread slices – 3 -4
3 eggs – beaten
Cream – 3 tbsp
Onion -  grated
Green  chili – finely chopped
Cilantro – finely chopped
Salt – to taste
Red chilli powder – 1 tsp
Coriander powder – 1 tsp
Garam masala – 1/2 tsp
Turmeric -1/2 tsp
Oil

Step I
Mix in the beaten egg, cream, onion, green chilli, cilantro, salt,red chilli powder, coriander powder, turmeric powder, garam masala. Beat it well till all ingredients are mixed in.

Step II
Heat the pan with some oil. Dip a bread slice in the egg mix, and toast the slice for few minutes each side. And there you have our Indian version of french toast.

This entry was posted in FOOD. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Indian “French Toast”

  1. Melissa says:

    This sounds much tastier than the french toast I am used to! I will have to try it this way :)

  2. Thanks for the good words Melissa… You must give it a try… I will wait to hear back from you!!

Leave a Reply

